IMG_0954_edited.jpg

Q & A with Courtney

Ask me anything!

Q: Where are you originally from?

A: I was born and raised in Sheridan, Indiana where, still, in 2022, there is no stoplight. There are a lot of pros and cons to being from a small town. You form a sense of community where everyone knows you and you know everyone. For me, leaving my small town for college forced me to leave my bubble and see there is a huge world and much to learn from meeting and building a new communities with others. 

Q: How did you end up in Franklin, IN?

A: My husband went to Franklin College so I spent a lot of time in the area. We both graduated and lived on the west side for a while but as we returned to Franklin for football games and to visit my brother-in-law who was also attending Franklin College, we were really impressed with the growth and the placemaking happening around the city and ultimately decided it was a great community join. Plus, we found the perfect land and built our dream home here so that has sealed the deal. 

​Q: Why did you start Zealbird?

A: If I'm being honest, I'm a control freak who likes flexibility. While I can flip the switch and operate within a corporate mold, I prefer non-traditional work environments so I decided to create my own. I control what I work on, who I work with, and when I work. As my own boss, I hold the ultimately flexibility I was seeking while also holding the ultimate responsibility. If a client is unhappy, it's on me. If a client has their socks knocked off, that's also on me. I like the power and motivation that comes with that knowledge. There are many other reasons too, but at the end of the day, I started Zealbird to build the work life I wanted for myself.

Q: Where did you go to college and what did you study?

A: I went to IUPUI where I studied Communications. I also have a minor in Business and Dance, plus a Theatre and Performance Certificate. I had incredible professors, met awesome peers, and being located in Indianapolis presented me with unique internship and job opportunities that helped me get where I am today.

Q: What's your spirit animal?

A: I am 100% a hummingbird. That's why I worked a hummingbird into my company logo. I am a bit anxious and undiagnosed ADHD, but it is because I carry a great deal of enthusiasm, drive, and purpose. 

 

Q: If you could live anywhere, where would that be?

A: I truly love Indiana. I would certainly entertain the idea of staying longer sabbatical-style stints in Colorado, California, Montana, or Utah, but Indiana will always be my home.  ​​

​Q: What do you wish people knew about marketing?

A: Marketing is more about human behavior and psychology than anything else. The better you know your audience, the better success you will have. That means asking for feedback. Don't guess what your customer wants/needs from you, ask them! You'll find that many of your customers will be happy to take a quick survey with no hesitation. If you give them something in return (like a gift card, cup of coffee, or lunch) you can get to know representatives of your customers more in-depth.

Q: If you won the lottery, what would you do?

A: After taking some trips and having some lavish meals, I'd love to open a venture capital company with my husband. We both have an entrepreneurial mindset and would love to assist other entrepreneurs pursue their goals.

​Q: Can you solve a rubix cube?​​​

A: Absolutely not.

​Q: What's your favorite color?

A: Black

Q: What are your hobbies?

A: I love to read & write poetry, cook, draw, and paint. I'm starting to get into gardening, but it's still early so wish me luck.

Q: Are you a more artistic or mathematic person?

A: I definitely choose to be more artistic most of the time because that's the mindset I enjoy. With that said, I can be analytical and math-oriented when I have to be. 

 

​Q: Have you ever left the country?

A: My husband and I love to travel! So far, we've been to Spain, France, and Ireland. We've focused more on national travel due to COVID, but look forward to exploring more outside of the USA soon.

Q: Are you an extrovert or introvert?

A: Both! I am classified as an extroverted introvert, which means I am talkative and energetic in a group setting because I value making sure everyone is comfortable and having a good time. I am also perfectly happy as a hermit not leaving my house for 3 days. 
 

​Q: Favorite pizza topping?

A: I'd eat any kind of pizza, but I love pepperoni and banana peppers. Plus, I've got to have the nacho cheese on the side to dip my pizza in!

Q: What's your guilty pleasure?

A: True crime podcasts. 

​Q: What's your favorite TV series?

A: I have SO many - I consume way too much content. My go-to classic is probably Parks & Rec but my husband and I keep a running list of series we have watched and mine is embarrassingly long.

Get in Touch with Courtney

I'm always looking to make new connections over coffee, a walk, or a snack!

317-363-8550